Do I Cheer or Boo Brett Favre at Lambeau this Sunday?

Every year, my father, brother, and I make a pilgrimage to the sacred Lambeau Field.  As I am not deeply spiritual, football and my devout worship of the Green Bay Packers constitutes the closest activity that I partake in to practicing religion.  As luck would have it, this season we earmarked the Vikings game as the one to attend before Brett Favre announced his “comeback” to the NFL (If I recall correctly, it was actually during that two week stretch between when Favre “told Childress no” and “changed his mind”).

Unfortunately, due to the late changed start to 4 pm EST and my mom’s draconian sanctions regarding not missing a day of school, my brother will be unable to attend the journey this season.  As excited as I am about the game and hopeful that the Packers can beat (demolish?  destroy?  maim?  murder?) the Vikings, I am apprehensive.  I don’t know whether I should cheer or boo to the introduction of Brett Favre in his much-hyped return to Lambeau Field.

It goes without saying that as a 23-year old, a vast majority of my happy memories of the Packers involved Favre’s gunslinging, boyish (as announcers have told me once or twice) antics and play on the field.  I saw him win a Super Bowl, lose another, and keep the Packers in perpetual playoff contention.  Now that I mention it, he has been at the forefront of a pretty high level of anguish too–the 89748974 INT game against the Rams in the playoffs, the pass to a wide open Corey Webster in the NFC championship game against the Giants, and the 4-12 season that ended the reign of Mike Sherman where week after week Favre would bring the Packers most of the way down the field before a game-ending turnover come to mind immediately.

When Favre left for the Jets, many Packers fans held Ted Thompson directly accountable.  While TT did stubbornly refuse Favre’s pleas for Randy Moss (that 4th round draft pick was too valuable to give up!) and not worship the ground that Favre walked on, the notion that Favre was wronged in his exit from Green Bay is false.  For the fourth straight year, Favre strung along the Packers front office with his fickle fence-riding about whether he was going to retire or not, eventually opting to “officially” retire without ever, you know, filing the actual papers.  After this retirement, the Packers had Aaron Rodgers but also needed to fortify the QB position in case the oft-injured–to that point–Rodgers was unable to complete his inaugural season.

In the draft, Thompson added Matt Flynn and Brian Brohm.  Now even though revisionist history has shown that Brian Brohm was dreadful, this was not an opportune time for Favre to decide, “Oh hey, by the way I want to come back and play.”  Rodgers had waited patiently and shown progress and for the long-term good of the franchise it made sense for him to start over Favre.  This was not a case of Thompson’s not respecting Favre’s legacy or directly telling him to go away.  This is why it was so disheartening when Favre jerseys represented the vast majority at the Panthers-Packers game we attended last fall and that there were more Favre JETS jerseys than any current Packer.

Because I am not in the mainstream media, I am not naive enough to not suspect that Favre going to the Vikings was premeditated from the moment that Thompson told Favre he would have to compete with Rodgers for the starting job if he wanted to come back if not before the whole retirement.  His retirement charade this past season was even more laughable and, without a shadow of doubt, premeditated as a mechanism to “stick it” to Thompson and, by (unintended?) extension, Packers fans.

All that being said, I expect the reaction at Lambeau field on Sunday to be resounding applause.  Anyone who reads the Green Bay Post Gazette knows that Packer nation gripes with every decision Ted Thompson makes, up to and including the color of his socks.  Even the fans who feel betrayed that Favre joined the Vikings will stand and applaud, I predict.  The question I have is whether I will join them.  However, given my conflicting emotions of Favre’s career and ridiculous petulance he has displayed the last two years, I think that the best solution to my dilemma might be to stand silently, neither applauding nor booing, when Favre is introduced, thus demonstrating my ambivalence.

4 Responses to Do I Cheer or Boo Brett Favre at Lambeau this Sunday?

  1. dad says:

    I will cheer softly and then hope that the Packers D knocks him on his butt hard for the rest of the game.

    I am actually not that hung up on the whole matter.

    –Thompson made the right decision on A-Rodge vs. Favre—he’s better now and longer term clearly a better option
    –Favre wouldn’t have survived with this offensive line
    –Its not like Favre didn’t lay everything on the line when he was in GB
    –I like watching him play
    –I am still glad he is in MN—would rather have him throw dumb-xxxx interceptions at inopportune times than Tarvaris Jackson handing the ball off to AP 28 times (so far I have been dead wrong on this view, but think he will press as season goes on)

  2. Matt says:

    You boo the Vikings when they come to town. Doesn’t matter if your mom is qb and Jesus lines up at wideout. Vikings=Vikings, Favre or not. End of story.

  3. Adam says:

    Of course even the Packer faithful should cheer for Favre….As you said, he is the defining figure in what has been a great 15 years of being a Packer fan……HE is the reason that it has been so much fun. To call suggest that I am wrong there is being dishonest……Packer fans owe a great deal to Favre….regardless of who you think is right in the controversy…..He deserves to be recognized appropriately by those that he provided so much joy to for all those years…..

    Yes….boo the Vikings….but cheer THE MAN.

    Actually….I think you will stand silently because you are not prone to displays of emotion anyways!

  4. Pingback: Live by the Favre, Die by the Favre « Keepthefiresburning's Blog

Leave a Reply

